Being a mom is one of the most thankless jobs I have ever
loved. But I am not only a mom, I work
full time and I am a student. I find
myself wishing weekends could have just one more day, just one more day that I could
have all to myself. So every once in a
while I call (actually text) my girlfriends and start throwing out dates, because
like me my friends are super busy moms. Most
of the time we end up doing something that involves the kids or just getting
together to watch movies and have a glass of wine with the kids (no wine for
the kids though =)).
Occasionally there is an event or its one of our birthdays
and we get to be free of the kids. I remember
when my son was younger I used to feel bad for leaving him. Asking myself was a bad mom for wanting to
leave him. I had to realize that I was a
better mom when I did. So today when I go
on a Moms’ Night Out evening and he asks can he come with me or when I will
back I simply kiss him on the forehead and tell him I love him and that mommy
will be back later. I no longer feel
guilty for leaving for a couple of hours before he goes to bad.
So now that we have set a date with our friends and we will
not feel guilty what should we do?? Where
should we go?? Don’t pick somewhere that
you could have actually brought your child with you to do. Remember what you used to like to do before
the kids. Go see a rated R movie, go
have a drink, go to the theatre. And if
you are still at a loss for ideas check out one of my fav pintrest boards. The bottom line is to have fun. Every mom deserves it and that includes you.